Promo art for Ghost Trick, showing the main character's body collapsed on the ground

I understand how the desire to tell your friends, acquaintances, or strangers online to play Ghost Trick (or any other game), combined with the desire for them to go in knowing as little as possible about the story, would result in you just saying "Play Ghost Trick!" at them.

But, like. They probably have a hundred other things they already want to play/watch/read that they haven't gotten to yet, that are higher priority for them just by virtue of them having some degree of familiarity with or knowledge of them. You gotta give them something if you want them to actually play it.

It doesn't have to be Story Spoilers - you can talk more generally about the writing and the emotions you experienced while playing, the game mechanics, the art direction, the animation, the music. Whatever aspects of it that spoke to you, that you are excited about.

But just "Play Ghost Trick!" really is not effective. I think it'd only work on me if I were actively looking for recommendations, and a friend who knows my taste in games told me about it - and even then, I'd still want to know a little about it before deciding to try it.


I have already played Ghost Trick, so no need to convince me in the replies. I'm just thinking about how many times I've seen this "Play X!" strategy for Ghost Trick and other games over the years. By the way, I don't mind if you disagree or whatever, so please don't take this post as me scolding you or telling you what to do.


Originally posted on Cohost.